My heart is breaking

Today I wanted to share something happy with you all.

We are 13 weeks pregnant!!

Before you all jump up and say “yay congrats” or “how exciting” or “3 kids are you insane?” I want to stop you. It’s not all good news.

We had our NT scan this morning and the results are not good. Worse than not good. Bad, horrible…heartbreaking. Baby seems fine, apart from a higher NT result everything seems good. We saw it’s little heart beating, its little legs kicking, it rolled and mooned us. Happy times.

Then we got the results. I’ve been diagnosed with Placenta Praevia Stage 4 and Placenta Percreta. Yeah, I hadn’t heard of them either. Glad the doctor wrote them down. For all us dummies out there it’s pretty much this:

Placenta Praevia – the placenta stays in the lower portion (part) of the womb, and either partially or completely covers the cervix (neck of the womb). This is known as placenta praevia. Grade 4 – (major) the placenta completely covers the cervix (most serious type of placenta praevia). I had it with Mavericks pregnancy but my placenta shifted during the pregnancy.

Placenta accreta occurs when all or part of the placenta attaches abnormally to the myometrium  (the muscular layer of the uterine wall).

  • Percreta — chorionic villi invade through the myometrium.

Meaning my placenta has broken/is breaking through my uterus wall which is not good. And there is no exit hole for baby to escape! This could be due to having 2 c sections and getting an infection which didn’t help with healing. But it’s all guesses at the moment. I’m sure they won’t be able to find a cause, except it happens.

Which basically means I’ve now got to go get more tests to see how bad it really is and what can be done, if anything to save the pregnancy.

But I’ve cried, a lot already. First stage of grieving I guess.

I was really hoping everything was fine, but we never really know. Modern medicine is amazing and this has been picked up early. Let’s hope it’s all going to be okay, and the outcome will be “mum’s doing fine.”

I’d even made a cute announcement photo. Now no one will see it.

And I’ve really got to stop googling these things…makes it 1000 times worse.

5 thoughts on “My heart is breaking

  1. Google definitely never made anyone feel better about their health. Hang in there and keep praying. I hope that everything turns out well for your family!

  2. My heart is breaking for you. I hope wirh everything that you get some good news and the pregnancy will be ok. I know only too well the feeling of helplessness that comes wirh news like this too, thinking of you all love xo

  3. Sweets, I am so sorry.
    Having gone thru a version a bit similar, I am sending you ample hugs and love.
    Anything you feel is fine. Don’t let anyone pass judgement.
    Xxxxxxxx

Please Leave a Reply

