And there he goes…

The last 3 weeks when I’ve dropped Marshal at pre-school, it’s been hard. Hard for me to leave him and for him to let me go.

He clung, he cried, I cried. Maverick painted and wanted to stay. But I just had to say good bye and leave. He is in good hands. I’ve got to trust that. I cried in the car every time. Felt horrible. I was abandoning my little guy.

But the smile he gives me when I picked him up at the end of the day…well that’s just the best. THE BEST!!!

So the mornings have been hard. I’ve been so worried about him, will he be ok? Will the other kids be nice to him? Will he be nice to them? What if I haven’t packed him enough food? I hope he doesn’t wet his pants!

Until yesterday. I gave him the pep talk in the car. ‘Ok monkey, let’s go in, get you settled and then I will leave before your morning meeting.’

We got there. He started playing with the animals they had out. ‘Ok I’m going now, I love you’. I was ready for the wail. All I got was ‘ok bye’. My heart broke.

All this time I’ve been worried and now he’s fine and it feels like he doesn’t need me. I’m not his security guy anymore. He let go all by himself. He grew up years in those 2 words.

I knew it would happen. I knew he would get used to going to school. I just didn’t think it would ACTUALLY happen now.

I can’t wait to pick him up in a few hours and hear about his day.

Please Leave a Reply

