Justicemum’s Oat Bars – Thermomix

A few weeks ago I made some muesli bars that the boys actually ate. I’ve been buying bars for a while now as I haven’t been able to recreate them at home. In my attempt to cut out the preservatives that go into my families bodies, I ended up studying the ingredients and on first attempt, got a pretty good match. I played around with the recipe afterwards with horrible outcomes, so have gone back to the first recipe.

I promised some friends I’d share the recipe so here it is. I made them in the Thermomix but you could do it in any mixer. These are the easiest thing to make too, they only took a minute to make the mixture.

Justicemum’s Oat Bars

Makes: about 12 large bars.

What you need:

  • 100gm rolled oats
  • 100gm wholemeal plain flour
  • 30gm butter
  • 40gm brown sugar
  • 30gm coconut (shredded or desiccated)
  • 20-30gm golden syrup
  • 1 egg
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp bi-card
  • ½ tsp sea salt
  • ½ tsp xanthan gum (optional)
  • 100gm choc chips

What you do:

  • Pre-heat oven to 180oC.
  • Line a flat tray with baking paper.
  • Put all ingredients except choc chips in mixing bowl.
  • Mix reverse/speed 5/10 sec or until it is all mixed and looks like dough.
  • Add choc chips and mix reverse/speed 3/5 sec
  • Flatten mixture on tray until about 1cm thick. Press into a square so the edges are straight.
  • Bake in oven for 10 mins or until golden brown. Let it cool for about 10 minutes and cut into bars.
  • Store in an air tight container for 5-7 days (if they last that long)

These are great for lunch boxes.

If you want you can add nuts if they aren’t being taken to school/playgroups.

You could add macadamia nuts, walnuts, dried cranberries, mixed seeds, chia seeds, or anything you like for a different taste.

*Please don’t steal my recipes, you can share it but all I ask is for a link back to this page and given credit. Thanks.

Please Leave a Reply

