Justicemum’s Sausage Rolls – Thermomix

It’s getting harder and harder to find new foods the boys will eat. Marshal is so damn fussy these days, it’s sometimes hard to get him to even come to the table for meals.

So of course, like any mother, I worry about him getting the “right” amount of vitamins and minerals. We don’t eat too much crap, and if it is “sometimes” food at least its 96% homemade so I can control the sugar and salt content in everything.

He used to be such a good eater. I might have babied him for too long, spoon feeding him until he was almost 2. But he ate everything that was served. Maverick is the opposite. He has had to fend for himself from very early on. He’s the one that uses forks and spoons. I did baby lead weaning as I just didn’t have the patience to sit and spoon feed him. It’s the best thing I’ve done.

Vegetables...yum

Vegetables…yum

Last night I made sausage rolls in the hope that they were fun enough for Marshal to even try them. After a slow start and him munching down the pastry, I managed to get 2 of them into him. That’s a win in my book…just wait until you see what’s in them! I’ll be adding them to the menu from now on.

So here are:

Justicemum’s Sausage Rolls – Thermomix

Makes 10-20 depending on the cut. I made quite narrow ones (quicker cooling time for screaming kids.)

What you need:

  • 2 sheets puff pastry defrosted. I did not make this. I bought the frozen stuff although if you really want to make it I guess you could.
  • 1 clove garlic
  • ½ onion
  • 280gm mixed vegetables. I used pumpkin, broccoli, carrots, zucchini and celery. Use whatever is in your fridge so it doesn’t go off.
  • 40gm red lentils washed and rinsed
  • 450gm mince. I used pork mince but you could use beef or a mixture. Or mince your own.
  • ½ tsp mixed herbs
  • Salt and pepper to taste.

What you do:

  • Pre-heat oven to 180oC. Line a tray with baking paper.
  • Turn on blades to speed 7 and put in garlic thru the lid.
  • Once crushed add onion. Speed 6/5 sec.
  • Add all vegetables. Mince speed 7/10 sec until it is all mixed together. Scrape down bowl.
  • Add mince, lentils, herbs and salt and pepper. Mince until it is all combined. Speed 6/5-10 sec.
  • Split the mixture between the sheets of pastry and make a log down one side. Make sure it goes all the way to the end. Roll the pastry up until you have 2 pastry and mince logs.
  • Cut each log into 10. About 1.5 cm wide each. You can cut them wider if you want. It might have a longer cooking time.
  • Place onto a prepared tray and bake in oven for 25-30 mins until golden brown.
  • Serve with your favourite dipping sauce.
Ready for the oven. Lots of filling!

Ready for the oven. Lots of filling!

These are so yummy and full of vegetables the kids won’t even notice.

You could also use half mince half kidney beans if you wanted to reduce the meat intake.

I don’t recommend freezing them, so if 20 are a lot, half the recipe.

Enjoy!

Finished and ready to eat!

Finished and ready to eat!

**If you want to share my recipes, you may, but please don’t steal my ideas. Also a link back to my blog would be nice…that’s all I ask.

 

 

Please Leave a Reply

