Justicemum’s Cupboard Biscuits

I love making my boys biscuits. Except they ALWAYS seem to have a tonne of sugar in them. Every recipe I find has bucket load of sugar, and I keep thinking, “there has to be another way!”

So the other day I decided to make some biscuits that didn’t have sugar. Mmm, yuck? Well, yes and no , I named them the cupboard biscuits…I used what I had in my cupboard. Oats, coconut, dates…and then once baked, I thought something was wrong. I hadn’t added anything to flavour them except a few dates. You couldn’t even taste them!

The finished product.

The finished product.

I tried my luck with the boys. Marshal loved them. He even asked for more. Maverick even ate a few. I thought that was great. They ate the blandest biscuits ever. Yippee.

So I decided to make some more but this time add some golden syrup. They were too sweet for me and the boys and my mum ended up eating them. I think some also got smooshed into the floor.

Yesterday I made some more, but used maple syrup. Only a bit and some more dates. I thought they were pretty good…the kids don’t like them. Can’t win.

Guess I’ll be going back to making the cupboard biscuits.

If you want the recipe, here it is. (I made them in the Thermomix but you can do it in any food processor/mixer. I don’t discriminate!)

Justicemum’s Cupboard Biscuits.

Makes about 15.

What you need:

30 gm coconut oil (if you don’t have this, just use butter)

20 dates

140 gm oats

40 gm coconut

½ tsp baking powder

1 egg

Pinch salt

What you do:

Melt oil/butter for 1 min/50oC/speed 1

Add dates and mince on 10 sec/speed 7. Scrape down sides of bowl.

Add everything else and mix on reverse for 20 sec/speed 4. If you find it not sticking together, I would turbo it for 2 secs NOT on reverse. It’s quite a sticky mixture.

Roll into little balls, place on prepared tray and flatten. Place into oven 180oC for about 10-12 mins until golden brown.

  • You could try adding some choc chips, sultanas, raisins or to sweeten them use ½ tbsp honey, golden syrup or maple syrup.
  • The good thing about these biscuits is they are school lunchbox friendly. Dairy, gluten, nut and refined sugar free.

IMG_1038

 

Please Leave a Reply

