A better me for everyone

I’ve taken a huge, and by huge I mean HUGE, step in becoming a better mum. I’m starting a self help program, to learn how to control emotions and not get stressed by my kids.

It’s been hard lately, I’ve been getting stressed, not enough sleep, a cranky 3 year old, a tired and cranky 1 year old. Some days it just gets too much. But its all about to change.

The book is called Happy Mum Handbook. Its by a Queensland woman, Jackie Hall. She found she hit breaking point when she threw a knife down, it bounced and almost hit her son in the head. She needed help. She got it, and is now helping other mums.

HMH-support-program-FB-pic

 

 

 

 

I don’t want to get to that point. Some days I really think I could throw things, smash everything breakable. I would regret it and I’m sure it wouldn’t help in the long run. So, I’ve signed up for her help.

I’ve never been good at asking for help, I just let the frustration fester inside until I cry. Doesn’t help at all. I almost broke into tears when I told my husband that I’d signed up for self help. Not sure if I was embarrassed or just glad I’ve finally done something about my stress. Probably a bit of both.

Not anymore! Times are changing. This house will be a fine oiled machine, with more love, less yelling and screaming, lots more cuddles (we do actually cuddle a lot) and less stress.

Wish me luck on my personal journey. I’ll keep you updated.

You can find more out about the book here.

4 thoughts on “A better me for everyone

  1. Just remember to be kind to yourself as well. You need to know that there will be days you feel like you have gone completely off the “Happy Mum” wagon, but as long as you keep trying I am sure you will find your way.

  2. Less stress, good! More cuddles, good! Learning to ask for help, good!
    As a (for a large part single) mother of four, the best bit of advice I can give you is forget about the well oiled machine bit, and embrace the chaos!! Take hundreds of photos, and write down stuff they say that makes you shout with laughter! Because before you know it they will be off, and you will have all the time in the world to be organised!!!!!

  3. Thanks for posting this Jen. I have just ordered the book for myself. A turbo charged 3 year old and a newborn are really testing me to my limits!

Please Leave a Reply

