The daily struggle

I struggle as a stay at home mum.

It’s a struggle to only have conversations with a toddler who’s new language is made up and consists of “jub jub” all day, and a baby who points and toddles around the house screaming at the top of his lungs.

I struggle with a budget. It’s hard to even know where to begin with money.

I struggle to keep the place clean. You pick up something, the kids are making a mess 5 feet away. Vacuuming needs to be done daily, but the baby screams when it gets turned on so it’s too much effort.

I struggle with cooking. I hate it and hate having to try to find healthy-ish food that the kids will eat, and that the husband will eat.

My sister-in-law is staying with us for the week, and it’s awesome having her and her daughter here. My 2 and her 1 get along so well, it’s so nice. She comes from America, where food is a lot cheaper. They have vouchers and coupons. We don’t have that here. She said she spends around $75 a week on everything.

An average shop for my family is around $200 (give or take) a week. It’s crazy. I’ve tried to shop at the ‘cheaper’ supermarkets but I find I still need to go to the normal one every time to get the regular stuff. It’s exhausting, especially with 2 kids in tow. I always forget things, no matter how many lists I make.

My SIL works for a organic food company and shows other mums how to plan meals for weeks at a time. I’ve heard of this and have recently been reading up on is idea. It sounds fantastic.

I would love to get organised enough to be able to do a shop for meals and prepare it all for 4 weeks at a time.

So while she’s here, I’m going to pick her brain and try to get more organised. Even if it’s just with dinners, it’s a start.

I need to find ways to struggle less. It’s not fun struggling, stressing and hating being a stay at home mum. I love my family, I want to enjoy it again…

Please Leave a Reply

