Growing pains

In 27 days, the baby will be 1. That means a few things:

– he’s growing up, fast,
– he might start walking soon which means more running around,
– I might have to change their names to toddler 1 and toddler 2,
– I’ve been breastfeeding for a year, and
– I haven’t had a good night sleep in that long.

A YEAR!

It was weird not going back to work after the year off. It’s hitting home that this is my job and it’s that’s what I’m going to be doing for a few years yet. It was a decision my husband and I made together, but it’s still hard. Being a one income family, that’s hard. Budgeting? Well, we aren’t good at it, but will learn this year.

Today the baby had a fall. I’m not a ‘bad’ mother who doesn’t watch her kids, but they move like lightning, and when they figure out they can climb…then it’s pretty much game over. He climbed up on the kids fold out couch, that wasn’t folded out, so probably 25-30 cm up. He has taken to standing unassisted lately, thinking he’s the king of everything, and then thumpwahhhhhhhhhhhh. He landed on his face, smack bang on his lips and nose.

He has a bruise on his nose and a fat lip. After the tears and snot, he seems fine. Didn’t knock any sense into him, still didn’t sleep past 40 minutes…

When the toddler turned 1, I made it through “happy birthday too yo…” And burst into tears. Uncontrollable sobbing. It was embarrassing even though it was just family.

This time it will be tears of exhaustion then tears of elation that we made it a year and I haven’t killed him, (yes my friends, you read that right.)

It’s been a long year, a tiring and trying year. The stress involved with raising a family is enormous. I’ve cried a lot, I’ve laughed but not as much as I should have, and I’ve danced with the 2 best little guys I know.

Who wouldn’t love this face?

20140110-174127.jpg

20140110-174453.jpg
Apparently the yogurt was more fun to play with…

Please Leave a Reply

