Sunday* Kitchen Sessions #5: gingerbread house

*yes I know it’s Monday but this took 2 days to make, so deal with it!

For the last 2 years I have made a gingerbread creation for Christmas Day. The first year it was a lopsided house with too many lollies, then last year was a train…very poorly put together, with too many lollies.

I always make my gingerbread from scratch. It’s so much nicer and I know what is in it. Plus it’s not hard to do. The hard part is designing the feature item, making a paper pattern then trying to fit it all together after it’s baked!

This year I’ve decided to go an easy way. Another house but with only 4 pieces. The first house had 4 walls, a roof and a chopstick holding it all up! I’m glad royal icing goes hard and holds everything together.

Another thing that’s made it easier, I bought a rolling pin. Yes, this year I don’t have to use a wine bottle to roll it out. Oh the ease! Who’d have thought a .50c rolling pin from a flea market would be so valuable? Should have purchased one years ago…
20131222-210627.jpg

Sunday:

Of course the toddler wanted to help. All he did was put his dirty hands on the dough and complained when I took it to roll it out. I’ve sent him to bed. I did late baking on purpose…he can decorate tomorrow.

I’m always worried I will under cook the gingerbread and the whole thing will be a schmozzle. And I really couldn’t be bothered making another batch. It’s too hot.

My problem? I get over baking half way through…

Monday:

Time to put this together! The gingerbread came out great. Now for the royal icing. Oh my, the amount of sugar used. Glad I only do this once a year!

Please Leave a Reply

